Coming to another close of a whole 30. This one hasn't been AS strict. I've let some stevia weasel it's way into my day...into my tea that is...and I made banana bread.. Which technically has all permissible ingredients, but the whole "bread/dessert" factor is frowned upon...I've definitely had some lunch meat and bacon with nitrates from restaurants..I've eaten some fake cheese with everything compliant except for the tapioca starch, but other than that..I've been successful again!!

Only 5 more days to go and I can have bourbon and beer! Yay!! My best guesstimate is that I will have lost between 7-10 pounds. Scale read 10 after only the first week, and has been bouncing back and forth and back and forth. I'm ignoring it until Saturday. ANY loss is a loss, and I'll be better off because of it. In a months time, that's nothing to frown about! I'm taking a "break", enjoying SOME treats on my vacation, and then back at it when I come home. The three demons that I have managed to steer clear of all year are soda, candy and potato chips! I am Betty nutrition!!

I've noticed something over the past two weeks of exercising. It's a general statement, for me. I think CrossFit is making my running stronger, and running is making my CrossFit weaker. (Mostly in the leg type lifts- NOT arm lifts.. I had a pr in push jerk of 150- 15 pounds heavier than in May, and I'm fairly certain I will PR in shoulder press. Did 5x2 reps of 80, and my old PR is 85...) Let's talk about dead lifts...I tried to do 2 sets of 5 of 90 percent on Friday... That would be 245 for me.. I could lift it twice. That's it. My body would allow no more. I stopped and tried to pick it up just once more, and I simply couldn't. It may have been a bad day, or the fact that we ran and did the prowler as a warm up, but honestly, I'm looking deeper and suspecting that my legs are drained. I had also done my first 11 mile run a few days earlier.

Andy and I participated in Barbells for Boobs, a CrossFit fundraiser workout last weekend. It was a great time, and where this fantastic pic was taken!! Awesome time, excellent cause!

I'm willing to throw in the pride card on the amount I can dead lift and squat for now, because I really want to do well at this weekend's 5k and our upcoming half marathon. Will I place? Uh hell no!!

My goal is to take 5 minutes off of my time from my 5k from last year. (38:26 was my time. Aiming for 33:26) That's about a 10:45 pace. I think it's doable, and even more so, I think if I'm feeling it, I could possibly break 33 minutes. I couldn't be happier with the progress I've made in my running. Did I mention, my very first 5k running back in 2010 took me OVER 45 minutes??? I got passed by strollers!!!

Everyone has to start somewhere, and I'm proud to say that I've not quit and didn't let those passing strollers discourage me, although I wanted to cry my eyes out at the time.

I just don't think it's possible to excel at two things at one time. Once this marathon training eases off, which will be May, I think I'll be ready to get back to focusing on lifting the hell out of some weights. I love that, too! In the meantime, if I don't PR every time, I don't think I can allow it to get to me. There are plenty of other good changes going on to let that get me down!



Leave a Reply.