Back on January 10, the day before I inquired about Crossfit RDU, I had a very special experience at Barnes and Noble.

I was sitting at a table on a Thursday afternoon, it was a rather blah day. I was tutoring Charles in writing, but I was distracted today. I noticed a napkin on the floor. I just kept looking at it, and knew I should pick it up, but was too damn lazy to anything about it.

Well, as I was thinking about this lone napkin on the floor, this little elderly man comes on his way to pick up his coffee and struggles to pick up that napkin. It was so much more difficult for him to bend over and pick up that napkin than it would've been for me to simply lean over out of my chair and do the same thing.

His one gesture has forever changed my perspective on how I have been conducting myself over the past few weeks. I keep reminding myself to, "pick up the napkin". It's my own little mantra...

I ended up writing a story about the man. I shared it with my student and then gave it to the man to keep. He was absolutely delighted with the story, and I made two new friends that day and found some new motivation and inspiration.

I haven't seen Fred and Helmut since that fateful Thursday afternoon, but I will be forever thankful for the lazy schmuck who left his or her napkin lying on the floor.

That napkin became a wonderful gift.
The story I wrote for Fred.
Fred.
Fred reading my story and being very appreciative!!!
Fred, the napkin and me.
Helmut, me and Fred.



Leave a Reply.