The first 5k I ever "ran" well, jogged, very slowly was about 3 years ago and it took me over 45 minutes. Then last year, I got more serious about trying to pick up the pace and joined a beginning running group. My best timed official 5k was 38:32. That was in September. 8 months later, and on a hilly terrain, I ran 3.2 miles (a little more than a 5k) in 34:18!! 4 minutes and 14 seconds improvement!! I'll take it!!

I really think I can shave even a little more time off if the course is a little more flat!!

I don't plan on running any timed 5ks in the near future, with Galloway training starting this weekend.

I'm happy that although I'm slow compared to some, I'm getting faster! It's exciting so see progress that can be measured!

I like thinking about the fact that since I first tried with effort, three years ago, I can do three miles more than ten minutes faster than when I began;)

Picture
Today.
Picture
September.



Leave a Reply.